William J. Perry Award (Perry Award)

On February 10, 2010 the Precision Strike Association awarded the fourteeth annual William J. Perry Award at the Precision Strike Winter Roundtable. The ceremony was held during the luncheon at the Crystal Gateway Marriott in Arlington, VA. Congratulations to the 2010 William J. Perry Award Recipient: The Sniper Advanced Targeting Pod (ATP) Team.

Sniper Advanced Targeting Pod (ATP) - 2010 William J. Perry Award Recipient

The combat-proven Sniper Pod is the U.S. Air Force's advanced targeting pod (ATP) of record. The Sniper ATP provides critical long-range, positive identification of targets and possesses a video down link (VDL) equipped with the widely used Rover ground receiver to relay high resolution streaming video to forward-deployed forces for NT-ISR and rapid target coordination. Its advanced target identification capabilities enhance the Warfighter’s ability to detect and analyze ground targets while dramatically decreasing the risks posed by enemy air defenses.

The Sniper ATP also provides essential non-traditional intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance using high-resolution, mid-wave FLIR and TV sensors, which operate in conjunction with a dual-mode laser, permitting eye-safe operation and precise geo-location in urban environments.

Sniper Advanced Targeting Pod

For target coordination, the Sniper pod possesses a laser spot tracker to acquire other laser spots from air and ground assets, an infrared marker visible to night vision goggles and a VDL to ground forces. Sniper ATP provides real-time targeting for J-series weapons and its state-of-the-art tracker enables employment of advanced laser-guided weapons against moving targets. The Sniper ATP is the only targeting pod fielded that incorporates meta-data in every frame of video. The date/time stamp and coordinate information further ensure accuracy throughout intelligence and command and control functions.

The Sniper ATP deployed to theater on the A-10 in July 2009.

A precision targeting system in a single, lightweight pod, Sniper ATP is designed for current and future aircraft. Sniper ATP is currently flying on the U.S. Air Force and multinational F-16, F-15, B-1, F-18, Harrier, A-10, B-52 and Tornado aircraft. Its common software and hardware interface design enables users to “plug and play” across services and multiple platforms, providing a common software and hardware configuration across aircraft fleets for greater interoperability.

Sniper video clips


Sniper ATP Team representatives from Lockheed Martin and the USAF receive the 14th Annual William J. Perry Award from PSA Chairman Andy McHugh.


Ken Fuhr, Andy McHugh, Col Michael Fantini USAF, John Douglass,
Lt Gen Chris Miller USAF and Maj Jason Cockrum USAF


Col Michael Fantini USAF, Andy McHugh, and Ken Fuhr


William J. Perry Award Requirements

In recognition of superb contributions to precision strike systems, the Precision Strike Association and the William J. Perry Award recognizes public or private sector leadership or achievement that results in significant contributions to the development, introduction or support of precision strike systems. The recipient must have made significant contributions that have led to the strengthening of our national security by direct application of precision strike capabilities to DoD systems and/or to the enhancement of our industrial technology base for application to precision strike technology.

Past William J. Perry Award Recipients

1997   Dr. William J. Perry

1998   Former Vice President Dan Quayle

1999   RADM Walter Locke, USN (Retired)

2000   The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

2001   NAVSTAR Global Positioning System Joint Program Office

2002   Representative Jim Hansen

2003   Terry R. Little

2004   JDAM Program Team: U.S. Air Force, U.S. Navy & The Boeing Company

2005   United States Warriors of Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom

2006   The Tactical Tomahawk Team: U.S. Navy and Raytheon Company

2007   The Small Diameter Bomb Team: U.S. Air Force and The Boeing Company

2008   Guided Multiple Launch Rocket System: U.S. Army and Lockheed Martin Corp.

2009   United States Special Operations Command Stand-Off Precision Guided Munitions   

         (SOPGM) Quick Reaction Team

William J. Perry Bio

Dr. Perry served as Secretary of Defense from February 1994 to January 1997. He was deputy secretary of defense from March 1993 until January 1994. Before joining the Clinton administration, Dr. Perry was chairman of Technology Strategies Alliances, a professor in the School of Engineering at Stanford University, and co-director of Stanford's Center for International Security and Arms Control. From 1977 to 1981, Dr. Perry was under secretary of defense for research and engineering. As such, he was responsible for weapon systems procurement and research and development. He has received numerous awards and decorations from the U.S. and foreign governments, non-governmental organizations and the military, including the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1997 and the U.S. Department of Defense Distinguished Service Medal in 1980 and 1981. 


Ceremony Photos from 2009 WJP Award Luncheon
Bill Dalecky, Maj Gen David Eidsaune, USAF and Col James "Hondo" Geurtz, USAF Col James "Hondo" Geurtz, USAF accepts award on behalf of his team

Randy Tylicki (NGC) Maj Gen Eidsaune, USAF, Col Geurtz, USAF, Rod Krebs (Raytheon) & Bill Dalecky (Chairman)

SOPGM Team members who were able to at tend the awards luncheon